Planning a menu…in my mind

My boyfriend Shawn just finished filming his master’s project (a film about a wrestling fan entitled Smark) and we’re planning on having a party to celebrate. Really, who doesn’t love an excuse to get together with your friends and drink?

I’m very excited for this party for one reason – It’s the first time I get to play hostess in our apartment and the first time I’ve been able to really have people over since I moved to Boston.

When I first moved to Boston I rented a studio apartment not much bigger than a pack of Post-It notes. Forget having people over, I didn’t even have a kitchen table! (Or a stove…or a fridge) I lived there for over two years.

Now I have a kitchen. With a real stove and everything! Though I moved into this place in February, I’ve never gotten over the novelty of having counter space. In all honesty, I’m happy I didn’t get a kitchen until recently. It’s really taught me not to take things for granted. It’s the little things, you know?

So, I’ve got to plan a menu for the party. I’ve never had to cook for a lot of people before, and it’s not like I’m doing dinner, but I still feel a lot of pressure to turn out something half way decent. In no way am I expecting to turn out Top Chef type of food but I want to make sure it’s edible.

I’m planning on making a cake (hopefully half chocolate, half vanilla with a butter cream frosting) and some other regular party foods (salsa, guacamole, pasta salad, etc.) Problem – I don’t know how to cook small. I’m Italian; my family does it up big all the time, every time. I have a feeling I’m going to have a lot of leftovers.

Anyway, I titled this posted “Planning a menu in my mind” because I’ve yet to write any of the items down. Making all this food and making it well all works – in theory. I have no idea if I have the time to make this let alone the skill. It’s a test of my skills and my luck.

If all else fails I have poison control on speed dial.

Leave a Reply

