Review: Gilmore Girls – Season 6, Episode 5 “We’ve Got Magic to Do”

I am so far behind on these reviews. You know what the worst thing about being an adult is? Your weekend becomes “errand time” and you have to do all your shit at once so you aren’t stuck doing it during the week. We did all our shit today because tomorrow we’re going to Wondercon. GIVE ME ALL THE COMIC BOOKS (not like I need anymore – I have a huge stack I need to read.)

Anyway, let’s start this episode with a healthy dose of fat-shaming and big foot shaming courtesy of Lorelai!

Screen shot 2016-03-26 at 9.27.20 PM

As a woman with big feet, I would like to tell Luke & Lorelai to suck my foot dick. I’m tall. I’ve got big feet.

2mtqrqf

There’s been a fire at the inn. The stove caught on fire and the insurance company is claiming they never heard of the inn. Did Spacey Grandpa fuck Lorelai over because he’s a petty sociopath? Survey says: Probably.

He didn’t. But he did make a special exception to insure the inn. Instead of thanking him for coming to look at the damage personally, Lorelai starts in on him about Rory and how Smarmy’s family hates her. I understand Lorelai’s anger. She’s justified. But a 10 minute meeting to discuss a fire at her in is not the time to attack what she sees as a slight against her and her parenting techniques. Because that’s why she’s mad. She’s mad because for once Rory did something that she didn’t approve of instead of bending to her will and she’s acting like a child.

Meanwhile, Rory is living her boring life with the DAR ladies. These women have never heard of emailing or publicizing what they do online so they act like Rory is the most brilliant person to ever exist for suggesting it. They put her in charge of the event where she says fuck salmon puffs, which sends Judgy WASP Mom into a tizzy. Rory’s decided to do a Hollywood Canteen theme for the fundraiser. I consider myself an expert on this subject because I listened to the “Star Wars” season of the You Must Remember This podcast – a show all about Hollywood in its first century. “Star Wars,” in this context, refers to Hollywood during WWII.  The Hollywood Canteen is mentioned often. I’m sure I’ve recommend You Must Remember This before, but I cannot say enough good things about it. It’s a great podcast.

Later, Luke makes spaghetti sauce from scratch because the stuff from jars is crap.

giphy5

Then he and Lorelai have a fight that my husband and I have had about a million times – Lorelai feels guilty because Luke’s been doing all the Lorelai things (which he doesn’t mind doing) and he’s not doing his Luke things because Lorelai doesn’t like them. My husband & I tend to do a lot of things that fall under his interest, especially when it involves wrestling. I never thought I’d know so much about professional wrestling, but I married a smark so now I know the definitions of words like mark and jobber and work. I even know what it means to cut a promo. So I know all this shit about wrestling and I watch wrestling with him and I go to matches with him because I love him and I want to spend time with him doing something that he loves. But I feel guilty making him do things I want to do because I worry he’ll be bored. Even though he’s assured me he wouldn’t be bored and he’s never complained on the rare occasion I’ve asked him to do something only I enjoy, I still feel bad. I get embarrassed.

bbt-the-big-bang-theory-32386276-500-281

Right?

At the DAR function, Paris, who is now broke, finally understands why working for a living sucks. Momma Smarmy is rude and expects a table though she didn’t RSVP. I cannot imagine a high society woman bred for the sole purpose of being the wife of a powerful, respected man would go anywhere without RSVPing, but, ok. It’s not the craziest thing I’ve had to believe this weekend (I saw Batman v. Superman on Thursday.) Rory seats them at the “slush table” which upsets Judgy WASP Mom so she bumps someone else from their (RSVP’d and paid for) table. Then Judgy WASP Mom mentions that Poppa Smarmy is also in attendance, which gives Rory a panic attack. She comes close to admitting to Paris that the only reason she dropped out of school was because he said she couldn’t hack it as a journalist. I still can’t believe that little discouragement was enough to make her give up everything she’d ever worked for and steal a boat.

Complete side observation about this episode – it must have cost a fortune. Two huge sets with at least 100 extras per? Singing and dancing kids for one, a live band for the other? $$$$$$

Spacey Grandpa runs into Poppa Smarmy in the men’s room and he finally learns that Lorelai wasn’t lying about the Huntsbergers being complete assholes. Judgy WASP Mom then verbally eviscerates Momma Smarmy with a smile, which I have to admit is somewhat satisfying. Spacey Grandpa storms back into the event in time to catch Rory on stage thanking everyone of their help and support. The camera lingers on Edward Hermann’s face and it goes from rage to utter sadness in seconds. He should have won an Emmy for this moment alone:

Screen shot 2016-03-26 at 11.24.29 PM

This is the moment where Spacey Grandpa realizes he should have backed Lorelai and forced Rory to go back to Yale. He’s made a mistake. Let’s hope he fixes it.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Gilmore Girls – Season 6, Episode 5 “We’ve Got Magic to Do”

  1. Ok, I have binge watched the entire Gilmore Girls series more times than I want to admit, but I still find myself catching things I hadn’t previously noticed. Today’s gem was Spacey Grandpa (oh, how I adore the names you’ve given them!) and the crestfallen look on his face at the end of the episode. I couldn’t decide if he was just sad to discover that Poppa Smarmy really did say the things Lorelai said he did or if he was indeed overcome with the realization that he effed up big time by not forcing Rory to head back to the big Y. So, I jumped to the Google in hopes of finding a synopsis or a blurb about this episode so I would know for sure which emotion Spacey Grandpa was experiencing, and man was I ever not disappointed when I stumbled across this blog. Thank you for so eloquently and thoroughly discussing this most important matter.

Leave a Reply

