Review: Gilmore Girls – Season 7, Episode 13 “I’d Rather Be in Philadelphia”

I have 9 more reviews to write (including this one) before I will officially finish reviewing the original run of the Gilmore Girls.

I can’t wait. I started this project to get myself back into the habit of writing on a fairly consistent basis. It worked, but I still need to up my output and get myself on a daily schedule. I also have ideas for a novel that I’d like to work on, and it will be nice to not have these reviews hanging over my head as I begin that endeavor. I think I need to keep reviewing something just to try and keep this blog as active as possible, but I’m not sure what yet. Definitely something that doesn’t do 22 one hour episodes a season.

Lorelai is lending Babette a plant so she can make her bedroom into a jungle. Apparently Maury likes to dress as a howler monkey, making Maury and Babette the first openly Furry couple on television. Good for them. Lorelai’s phone is ringing and ringing and ringing because, as the “last time on…” clip reminds us, Spacey Grandpa has had a heart attack. (Are we sure it’s not angina, like every other time an older male – including Spacey Grandpa – has had heart trouble on this series?)

Rory and Lorelai are at the hospital waiting for word on Spacey Grandpa. Lorelai tries to call C-Money and he refuses to answer. One would think that if your wife calls you a million times in a row it’s probably not just because you two had a fight. If nothing else, you should probably check your email to make sure it isn’t anything else. You have a kid together – checking to make sure she’s not calling to tell you that kid has been hurt is always priority number one.

Rory bought every gross thing she can find from the vending machines, including a blue can of soda that looks like a pack of American Spirits has been converted into carbonated liquid.

Screen shot 2016-07-04 at 8.43.09 PM

Rory says she keeps thinking it’s all just a nightmare. Oh, honey. There is nothing worse than going through a serious illness with a loved one. You want so much to be able to make them better but there’s nothing you can possibly do besides sit and wait while you try to be as supportive as possible.

True to form, Judgy WASP Mom is a complete asshole to the nurses once she arrives. I expected nothing less.

When they’re allowed to speak to Spacey Grandpa before his surgery, we are given another glimpse of the infamous gold chain from several episodes ago. The Gilmore Guys were quite taken with Richard Gilmore’s gold chain.  I commented on that chain, too, but I don’t remember if I wrote about it and then removed it or if I left it in the review. So If I’m repeating myself, I apologize. I don’t think that gold chain was Richard’s. It was Edward Herrmann’s. He was a Catholic. I bet it’s a saint medal. If there’s one thing (many of) us Catholics love, its saint medals. Not all Catholics wear them, I honestly think it depends on what strain of Catholicism your family practices. For example – my husband is Catholic but his family and his family’s parish wasn’t really into the saints. My family? Saints, saints, everywhere!

Sookie calls Lorelai to make sure she’s ok because that’s what friends do for each other. Babette tells Luke what happened. Even Michele sends his good thoughts along. Smarmy of all people sets his needs aside and completely ignores his ringing phone to support Rory through this. That’s a damn decent thing to do. But C-Money? Nothing. He doesn’t even call. Luke shows up at the hospital and C-Money doesn’t even call to check on his father-in-law.

Lorelai and Judgy WASP Mom eat from the vending machines. Why they don’t eat what Rory previously purchased? Unknown. Why they don’t hit up the hospital cafeteria? Again, unknown. I know people rag on hospital food but I actually didn’t find the stuff they served at the hospital where my husband had his surgeries all that terrible. In fact, I don’t know what I would have done without the very nice waiting room, free wifi, and Starbucks coffee they had there.

They eventually give up on the vending machines and go to the cafeteria where Judgy WASP Mom is, well, judgy about the food. Her lawyer calls and tells him that she wants the will and the DRN (do not resuscitate order) sent to the hospital. This pisses Lorelai off, but this is actually very smart. Maybe she doesn’t need the will, but she needs that DNR and, if she has it, the medical power of attorney. These things are upsetting to talk about and to think about, but they are absolute necessities to ensure that your wishes are carried out in the event that you are too sick to advocate for yourself.

Rory and Smarmy go to the Gilmore home to pay the “fish man” and to get some things Spacey Grandpa will need when he recovers. Much like she did for Smarmy, Rory decides to bring almost everything her grandfather owns to the hospital. He’s not moving, Rory. He doesn’t need a library of books and a fucking record player. Grab some socks, slippers, a book or two, and an extra blanket and call it a day.

Back at the hospital, Judgy WASP Mom tracks Lorelai down and explains to her that she is following through on the plan she and Spacey Grandpa set up last time he was in the hospital. She finally breaks down and says that he’s her whole life and she could lose him. Oh god.

giphy1

I know Amy Sherman-Palladino has said that she never watched season 7, but I hope she watches this scene and the scene after it where Emily talks to Richard after his surgery. Knowing Edward Herrmann is dead in real life and knowing that Spacey Grandpa will have to be dead in the show makes these scenes hurt that much more. I won’t lie, I teared up.

After Lorelai tells Rory that she has no idea where C-Money is, Luke appears bearing bags of food. This is a nice thing to do. Of course, this is the moment when C-Money decides to show up like a tom cat in search of an easy meal. He gets all pissy because Luke is there, which I guess I understand but at the same time, who is the asshole who didn’t bother returning any of Lorelai’s phone calls?

I really hate C-Money. Fuck that guy.

 

 

One thought on “Review: Gilmore Girls – Season 7, Episode 13 “I’d Rather Be in Philadelphia”

  1. I also got emotional when Emily did and then again when she was with Richard. Also Edward Herrmann was so good in that scene and the one with the girls. My dad had bypass surgery several years ago and EH absolutely nailed the slow quiet way he spoke and moved and even when he said he needed to close his eyes for a bit. It took me right back.

Leave a Reply

